Lylah Lodge: The Dirty Dirty Sheets Interview

“The Lovely” Lylah Lodge is an up-and-coming wrestler from the Pacific Northwest. Known for her imposing presence, but dainty demeanor, the “Powerhouse Princess” recently made waves as a cast member on “World of Hurt,” a show that follows young wrestlers as they look to reach the next level by training with the legendary “Rowdy” Roddy Piper. We are excited to bring you a glimpse at the real person behind the “reality” TV headlines. Enjoy!

How did you get your start in wrestling?

I actually found out about a wrestling school in Portland, Oregon run by “Playboy” Buddy Rose and Colonel DeBeers and I went to check it out with friends of mine. From the first time I stepped into a ring I knew I liked the idea of being a wrestler. I had always looked up to the women I watched wrestle, and I never thought I would become one of them, but here I am doing it!

What is it that you love about wrestling that’s kept you in the sport?

I love entertaining people and going out and playing the crowd and controlling their emotions with what I say and do. It’s a rush to have that kind of power over people.

You’re from a region of the country that doesn’t get a lot of national recognition. Who are some other wrestlers from the Pacific Northwest that people should check out?

There is a lot of great talent in the area. DV Sullivan is my boyfriend, and the nephew of Kevin Sullivan who has moved to the area recently. He and his brother Ron are being mentored by Kevin, as well as setting up several tours and matches while working with Kevin directly. I am sure you will be hearing more about these guys very soon. The PNW is home to top prospects Aaron Bolo, Caden Matthews and Damon James as well as the incredible Azul Angel. All of these guys are worth a look and should help bring respect to the PNW wrestling scene.

You’ve come out to the Xena: Warrior Princess Theme Song. 1. That’s awesome. 2. Are you worried that Cheerleader Melissa, who considers herself the Xena of Pro Wrestling, might take offense?

I am not worried, I only came out to it a few times and I was unaware that Cheerleader Melissa considers herself that, I would say that she might direct her beef to Amazing Kong if anyone! I have drawn inspiration from watching Xena and I believe I look a bit more like her than either Melissa or Kong. It is unfortunate that I am not in as great of shape as her yet, but I have always been The Powerhouse Princess will continue to be so.

The “Powerhouse Princess” is an interesting concept. In the ring, you’re an angry powerhouse, but outside you seem like a generally happy person. What is it about competition that brings that anger out in you?

I have a problem with girls who don’t have respect for me and my body in the ring. If someone steps out of line or hurts me, I just don’t sit back and take it. That’s about it; I always give them my best and I expect the same in return.

You’re close to KC Spinelli. Tell us about your relationship?

We have been closer in the past but we have grown apart as time has gone by. I believe we have a mutual respect for one another, but I also believe she feels she is above me now and I will not agree with that. But she has come a long way since she was the excited girl who got to come watch me wrestle.

You appeared with Spinelli in the TV show “World of Hurt.” How did you get involved in the project?

They contacted me after seeing pictures and matches of mine online, and after hearing about me from other participants in the show.

“Rowdy” Roddy Piper, seemed really, really intense. What’s he like as a trainer? How does he compare to another notably intense wrestler whom you also trained with, Davey Richards?

Roddy is very intense yet very calm at the same time. He had a way of being able to get us pumped up when he needed us to be high energy, and a way of bringing us down to a calm state when that is what he needed. I think it had to do with how much respect we all had for him; you just want to make him proud. Our time with Roddy was also for TV, so there is a lot that everyone didn’t see. It was not as physically intense as it was emotionally intense, which is what I am working on, so I took a lot away from Roddy’s training.

With Davey it was more about conditioning and seeing how far you could push yourself and really taking your physical ability to the next level.

Your episode of World of Hurt aired recently and you were seen facing several challenges. What was dealing with that like, especially Roddy telling you to “walk away?”

I was highly disappointed in my episode. The editing was really obvious and there was a lot of stuff that wasn’t shown that would have taken less away from me. As far as Roddy telling me to walk away, that was completely taken out of context. I was being told that if wrestling isn’t what I really want to do with my life, then I should just walk away. He never said it the second time like they edited on the episode and I never once felt that Roddy didn’t see potential in me or believe that I didn’t have what it takes.

The guys were told to say that stuff about me, just like I was told to say that KC is my best friend and that Sam wasn’t ready for what we were doing there. I would only go back and do WOH again if I was in better shape, because I never expected them to turn me into a sob story and tear me down when I have come so far in such a short amount of time. For them to focus on the easiest cheapest target by calling me fat was a load of crap. I really wanted them to focus on my emotions and passion for wrestling, but they took the easy way out and picked on the fat girl who has lost 80 pounds already.

World of Hurt cast mate Brady Malibu had lots of negative things to say about you (including being under the  bizarre impression that being smaller than you, a female wrestler, is actually beneficial to him in Pro Wrestling). Of course there have been numerous larger women, like Bull Nakano, Reggie Bennett, Aja Kong, and Amazing Kong, who have had an incredible impact on wrestling. What do you have to say to him and people like him?

Brady is a classic case of small man syndrome. He is just jealous that I bench press more than he weighs.

Overall, what was the experience on World of Hurt like?

It was like being an actress. We all played a part, and I guess they took the part I was playing and spun it to what they wanted me to be. I spent a lot of money and helped pay for a lot of things for the other people on the show because they had nothing at times. I really was an asset to a lot of those people, like I said in my promo, and I deserve better than I got back from them. Those people took advantage of a kind person who has money and I can’t blame them, they are just lucky I was there.

For fans who haven’t seen you, what can they expect from Lylah Lodge in the ring?

They can expect an interactive experience. I play to the crowd a lot and I am never happier than when I am in front of a fans. I believe I have a lot of impressive moves, especially for a girl who isn’t tiny like Brady. I always give my all in every match so you know you are getting the best of me.

Who are some wrestlers you’d like to face in the future?

I would really like to wrestle Kacee Carlisle, who I was supposed to be wrestling this month but that has been postponed. I would love to work for SHIMMER. I just want to face girls who are professional and have respect for the sport.

What are some promotions that you’d like to wrestle for? Countries?

SHIMMER is a goal of mine because there are so many great talents to there. I have been to OVW and I would like to go back there and face some of the girls I met. I have contemplated moving to the East Coast as well as enrolling in OVW’s training program. I am still trying to figure out where I am going to go when I do eventually leave the Pacific Northwest.

What’s your ultimate goal in professional wrestling?

I would love to be a WWE Diva or a TNA Knockout, but I just want to feel accomplished and successful in wrestling regardless of where I work.

What is Lylah Lodge like away from the ring? What are your favorite hobbies? Books? Music? Movies?

I am a Massage Therapist and have been doing massage for 8 years now. I decorate cakes and make custom replica cakes for friends and family. I have just started selling cupcakes at the shows I wrestle at. I love the Twilight Saga and the Harry Potter series of books and movies. I listen to all kinds of music and love to watch the Food Network. I take Zumba and Pilates classes, and I am always working on my body and focusing on getting in shape. I enjoy swimming and I was a competitive diver in high school. I still enjoy going to the pool to dive and show off there!

Where can people currently see you wrestle? Any big matches coming up?

I only wrestle for one promotion locally right now called SCW in Poulsbo, WA. It is my home promotion and where I began wrestling and people can always see me there. I am scheduled to fly out to the Midwest for another tour in May, and I am always taking bookings where I can branch out and work with new opponents. Right now, I am just trying to get fit and look the part, taking Roddy’s advice if you will, and figuring out what I really want from life and seeing if wrestling is a goal I will continue working towards.

Is there anything else you’d like to say to your fans?

Thank you for all the love and support and I hope that everyone still believes in me after seeing my episode of WOH.

To learn more about Lylah, contact her on Facebook, join her Facebook group, or follow her on Twitter (@thelovelylylah). Below, see a match between her and the recently retired legend, Malia Hosaka:

httpv://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AcJ8EtS5h-I

Leave a Reply

