Aki Shizuku: The Dirty Dirty Sheets Interview

Aki Shizuku is not a name widely known to pro-wrestling fans in Japan, and almost completely unknown to even dedicated fans outside the country. That meant that it a came as a surprise when she was named the opponent for Kana on SMASH’s October 28th show. Kana handpicked Shizuku as an opponent, no doubt due to her outstanding history in amateur wrestling, unique physical ability, and keen mind. Known as the “Intelligent Monster” this hidden gem of Japan will have a huge opportunity to showcase her skills and reveal why her pro future is just as bright as her amateur past. We invite all our readers to learn more about the talented Aki Shizuku.

Photos courtesy miruhon.net.

日本語はここをクリックしてください。

Please tell us when you made your debut, and against whom.

My first opponent was Midori on October 13, 2007.

I took a hiatus from pro wrestling in 2007, and returned in 2009. I have been wrestling professionally for 3 years.

Who trained you?

I trained at Ito-Dojo until my debut. After returning, I was trained in ground technique by Yuuki Ishikawa of BattlArts and had wrestling practice in Gaku-puro. [Gaku-puro is Japanese backyard pro-wrestling.]

You have a great track record in amateur wrestling, and were an All Japan Student Championship Finalist in 2009. Why did you choose to become a professional wrestler?

At first, I became a joshi puroresu fan, seeing AJW’s ATHENA TV show when I was a junior high school student. I wanted to become a pro wrestler. I told my mother and she said, “You should wrestle amateur, and learn the severity of winning and losing”, and I was tossed into the world of wrestling.

After your debut, you started wrestling in Gaku-puro. What did you learn by doing that? What is the difference between Gaku-puro and professional wrestling?

Gaku-puro wrestlers are not a professional and are not athletes.  Their physical ability and strength is at the level of ordinary students. Therefore, it is most important that they use ingenuity and make characters that utilize their own unique abilities. They are university students, so they have an academic approach to puroresu. “The first phase of puroresu is to introduce myself to the audience”, was the advice from a member of Temple Puroresu that affected me the most. I had experience in women’s professional wrestling organization and similar basic skills, but I had no skills to tell audience about my unique advantage. After getting that advice, I actively incorporated certain moves, leading to my own style now. If there was no encounter with Gaku-puro, the present version of myself would not exist.

You are a representative of the “Temple Puroresu” promotion. Please tell us about it.

When Temple Puroresu puts on an event, instead of selling tickets, we solicit donations. The fundraising activities primarily contribute to an orphanage, but we also do volunteer events for the disabled, and we are giving support and guidance for a professional wrestling organization run by the hearing-impaired.

On October 28th at SMASH.22, you face the first SMASH Women’s Champion Kana. Why do you feel Kana chose you as an opponent? Please tell us about your feelings on this match.

In the past year I have gotten emails from many fans saying “Please fight against Kana.” There was also an organization which said, “Please fight against Kana,” before SMASH did, although it did not happen.

During this past year, when I did professional wrestling, the name of Kana was always mentioned. Kana and I both studied under Yuuki Ishikawa, president of BattlARTS. I think that there is a professional wrestling match which only Kana and I can express.

Do you have a more chance of fighting well? Is there anyone who you would want to face, Japan or abroad? And what are your goals in your wrestling career?

I would like to fight with all woman wrestlers of SMASH. A trainee of SMASH is in Temple Puroresu. I would like to fight him when he debuts.

My greatest target is Hailey Hatred. I would like to fight with her again. She is a wrestler whom I respect.

I never want to lose to other wrestlers. I want to be the strongest among those with this same career.

What are your thoughts on the current state of Joshi Puroresu?

Based on my experiences in Gaku-pro, we should focus on unifying wrestlers’ individuality.  Individuality and character is not about personality nor appearance. It is a skill which each person is trying to gain and use. I love Joshi Puroresu. There is Puroresu which only women can do and we should have the spirit of inquiry.

Please give us your brief thoughts on the following wrestlers.

Serena Deeb – I am not acquainted with Serena, I’ve only watched her fights. She has a great body. Just watch her entrance and you can see that she is very strong

Hailey Hatred – She is my goal wrestler. I respect her as a player. I am training kicks, therefore, I do not fear her kicks. I was beaten by her in a singles match recently, but I have confidence that my ground wrestling skills in first phase of the match was better than hers. I studied it, and I would like to beat Hailey some day.

Syuri – Uses great kicks. She has something I don’t have, so I have a natural interest in her. We would have an  MMA style fight. My style is based in amateur wrestling, Syuri’s is based in kicks. They seem similar, but they are surprisingly opposite styles. That is why she is also the best person for me to fight.

Makoto – I’m now involved in SMASH and I think she is an absolutely essential wrestler. I don’t  want to be defeated by her.

Ray – Ray is good at the high flying style, a style that won’t by any means be done by me, so I think it’s fantastic. She does everything brilliantly, and is a beautiful wrestler. She previously participated in  Joou-Bati* so I have interest in her. [Joou-Bati (女王バチ) means Women’s BattlARTS/shoot style, as seen in Queen Bee.]

Hiroyo Matsumoto – I am interested in her as young heavy weight class wrestler. I would like to fight with her someday.

Is there anything else you would like to say to your current and future fans?

Proceeds of the merchandise sold in my shop will be donated to an orphanage.

Yes! You can also contribute to society by coming to see my fights! Laugh together through Puroresu. Let’s wish for people’s happiness together through Puroresu. Be happy together through Puroresu!

Learn more about Aki Shizuku by following her on Twitter (@shizukuaki0702) . See her in action in this epic open training session where she puts 8 guys through the ringer.

httpv://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6x2TIkw9kzs

日本

DDS: こんにちは。まずはあなたのキャリアをお聞かせください。あなたがプロレスデビューした日はいつで、対戦相手は?

こんにちは。まずはあなたのキャリアをお聞かせください。

DDS: あなたがプロレスデビューした日はいつで、対戦相手は?

こんにちは。2007年10月13日です。対戦相手はみどり選手です。

私は2007年に一度女子プロレス団体を辞めており、2009年復帰。キャリアは3年目です。

DDS: デビューまでにどこでトレーニングをつみましたかか?デビューまでの、そして今のあなたのコーチは?

デビューまでは伊藤道場でプロレスを習いました。復帰してからはグランド技術はバトラーツの石川雄規さんに、プロレスの練習は学生プロレスで練習してました。

DDS: あなたはレスリングの世界で素晴らしい実績をお持ちですが、あえてプロレスラーになったきっかけ、理由は?

※彼女は2009全日本学生選手権準優勝の経歴の持ち主。

もともと中学生の時に格闘女神ATHENAを見て女子プロレスファンになりました。そしてもともと女子プロレスにあこがれて女子プロレスをやってみたいと思ました。それを母に話したところ「アマチュアの格闘技をしっかりやって、勝負の世界の厳しさを知ってからにしなさい。」とレスリングの世界へ放り込まれました。

DDS: デビューの後で、あなたは学生プロレスにも参加しました。そこでは何を学びましたか?学生プロレスとプロレスの違いは?

学生プロレスはやはりプロでもなければアスリートでもありません。フィジカルや体力は普通の学生レベルです。よって個性を生かした創意工夫、自身を生かしたキャラ作りが一番重要となるかと思います。大学生ですから学問的にプロレスをしているようにも思えます。私が一番影響を受けたのは「プロレスの序盤はお客さんへの自己紹介」というお寺プロレスのメンバーからのアドバイスでした。私はもともと女子プロレス団体にいた経験がありました。基礎力は劣らない一面を持っている反面、個性を生かし自分をお客さんに伝える力が全くありませんでした。その言葉をもらってからレスリングムーブを積極的に取り入れ今の自分に至ります。学生プロレスとの出会いなしに今の自分はありません。

DDS: あなたが会長をつとめる「お寺プロレス」とは?目的は?

お寺プロレスとは、プロレスの興行を行い、チケットを販売するかわりに募金をつのり集まった募金を全額乳児院に寄付する活動を主としているほか、障がい者施設でのボランティア興行、聴覚障がい者によるプロレス団体の支援、指導を行っています。

DDS: 10.28SMASHでは初代ディーバ王者の華名選手との試合が決まっています。なぜ華名選手はあなたを指名したのでしょう?この試合への意気込みを。

一年前から様々なファンの方に「華名選手と是非試合をしてください。」とメールをいただいたりしていました。また実現できませんでしたが他団体においてSMASHより先に華名さんと試合してくださいと声をかけてくる団体もありました。一年間私がプロレスをするに当たり華名という言葉が離れませんでした。また華名さんとはバトラーツの石川雄規社長の教えを仰いだ者同士で、私と華名さんにしかできないプロレスがあると思ったからです。

DDS:  今後、試合数は増えそうですか? 国内、海外問わず戦いたい選手はいますか?

SMASHの女子レスラーとは全員戦いたいです。あと私が代表を務めますお寺プロレスにSMASHの男子の練習生がいますが、彼ともぜひ彼がデビューしてから戦いたいです。

そして最大の目標、私の目標であり、尊敬するレスラーヘイリーヘイトレッドと再び戦いたいです。

DDS: あなたのキャリアにおける目標は?

同じキャリアの選手には絶対負けたくないです。

同期の中で最強でありたいです。

DDS: 現在の『女子プロレス』について、言いたいことはありますか?

学生プロレスを経験した上での意見ですが、やはり選手の個性の画一化はどうなのかなと・・・。個性やキャラとは性格や見た目ではありません。各自が持っている、または目指そうとしている技術です。私は女子プロレスが大好きですし、女子にしかできないプロレスはあると思うので、私も含めて探究心を持つべきです。

DDS: 次の選手について思うことをお願いします。

セリーナ

セリーナ選手とは面識はなく、試合だけしか見たことがありませんが、体の出来が素晴らしいと思いました。入場だけで非常に強さが伝わる選手だと思います。

ヘイリー・ヘイトレッド

彼女は私の目標の選手です。選手として尊敬しています。先日彼女にシングルで敗北しましたが、序盤のグラウンド技術は私のほうが優れている自信はあります。キックだって、私自身キックのレッスンを受けてますから、怖くありません。しかし、どんな状況でも最終的に自分のペースに持ち込み最後は自身を勝利へ導くその技術はまだ私にはありません。それを研究しつついつかヘイリー越えを果たしたいです。

朱里

キックが素晴らしい選手だと思います。練習でご一緒しましたが私にないもの足りないものを持っていらっしゃって、自然と意識しております。格闘技スタイルの試合をするもの同士ですが、私はレスリング、朱里さんはキックと、似ているようで意外に真逆のスタイルだからこそ、今一番戦ってみたい相手でもあります。

真琴

これからSMASHと絡んでいく上で絶対に欠かせない選手だと思います。負けたくない相手です。

Ray

空中殺法を得意とするRAY選手ですが、私には絶対できないスタイルなので本当に素晴らしいと思います。何をしても華やかで、美しい選手だと思います。以前女王バチ(女子版バトラーツ)にも参戦もされていましたから少し興味があります。

松本浩代

女子には珍しい若手重量級選手として興味があります。いつか戦いたいです。

DDS: あなたのファン、これからファンになるであろう人々にメッセージをお願いします。

私の売店で売っている品物の収益金は乳児院に寄付されます。そう!私の試合を見に来るとあなたも一緒に社会貢献ができます。プロレスを通して一緒に笑いましょう。プロレスを通して一緒に人の幸せを願いましょう。プロレスを通して一緒に幸せになりましょう。

DDS:  インタビューにお答えいただき、ありがとうございます。今後のご活躍に期待します。

ありがとうございます。

Leave a Reply

